Aggressive, Experienced & Trusted Work Directly With An Attorney Backed by Thousands of Victories and Over 20 Years of Experience

Ventura Underage DUI Attorney

Call Our DUI Defense Lawyer at (805) 919-8662

California is one of several states with a “zero tolerance” policy as it relates to underage drinking and driving. If you’re under the age of 21, you’re not legally permitted to drive with any alcohol in your system. This means that you can be arrested for DUI even if you are well below the legal limit for adults.

If you’ve been arrested under suspicion of underage DUI, you could be facing heavier charges and penalties than adult offenders would face. At The Law Offices of Robert F. Sommers, our Ventura underage DUI lawyers believe that a youthful mistake shouldn’t cost you your future. Our firm has focused solely on DUI cases since 1997, and we have represented more than 5,000 clients in that time.

Rely on our extensive experience with DUI cases. Call our firm today at (805) 919-8662 for aggressive representation.

What Are the Charges for Underage DUI?

There are actually a number of potential charges that can be leveled against you. While some of these charges seem redundant, you will usually be charged with everything that can possibly apply. Unlike an adult DUI case, where it can often be argued that the driver was not over the legal limit at the time of the arrest, underage drivers can be charged for any amount of alcohol in their system over .01%.

In California, underage drivers can face a variety of DUI charges, including:

  • Driving with a BAC of .01% or greater
  • Driving with a BAC of .05% or greater
  • Driving with BAC of .08% or greater
  • Driving while actually impaired by drugs or alcohol
  • Possession of alcohol in a vehicle

You only have 10 days to request a DMV hearing after your arrest. Call our Ventura underage DUI attorney immediately so we can handle this for you.

What Are the Penalties for Underage DUI?

The state of California imposes much harsher penalties for a minor DUI conviction than for an adult over 21. This means that a single mistake can severely impact your future as you enter adulthood.

For a first-time minor DUI, these penalties can include:

  • Steep fines of up to $2600
  • Up to six months in jail
  • A one-year suspension of your driver’s license

The consequences of a second or third underage DUI are even more severe, and you’ll usually end up facing additional charges for driving with a suspended license. When you choose to be represented by our firm, we can help reduce these penalties or get the charges dismissed altogether.

Trust Our Experienced Team

At the Law Offices of Robert F. Sommers, our Ventura DUI attorney has more than two decades of experience with DUI cases. To better serve our clients, Mr. Sommers has remained solely focused on DUI and has more than 4000 cases under his belt. If you’ve been arrested for DUI, you need a tough and battle-tested advocate on your side.

Time is your enemy following a DUI arrest. Call our firm as soon as possible at (805) 919-8662.